Rockhold vs. Weidman UFC 194 (Zuffa/Getty images)

Luke Rockhold has taken some pretty big shots at former Champion Chris Weidman.

The new UFC middleweight champion Luke Rockhold verbally assaulted the man he is set to fight in a rematch at UFC 199 on June 4, Chris Weidman.

At the “Unstoppable” press conference just before UFC 196 Weidman, who is usually pretty relaxed and layed back, came out all guns blazing as the men went back and forth in a war of words. The obviously emotional Weidman defended his performance at UFC 194 stating he was nowhere near full health and had a broken foot coming into the bout. 

Rockhold has since fired back at his June 4 dancing partner. At the EA Sports UFC 2 launch party, Rockhold stated that Weidman being so emotional and angry will only help the new champion win in more dominant fashion. 

He doesn’t look like himself. I don’t know. We’ll see if this emotion helps him. To my knowledge, emotion doesn’t help you fight. So he better check himself otherwise this fight is gonna be over a lot sooner than he expects… maybe even than I expect. I don’t feel threatened by Chris. I really don’t see what he’s going to bring to the table that’s going to blow me away, anything different. Because of a broken foot? C’mon. 

Obviously not having the belt has gotten to him and he’s just making up a lot of things in his head seemingly. I don’t know where he’s coming from, but he’s just really emotional. Maybe he’s on his period or something. I don’t know. 

Now we that we all know both fighters came into the co-main event of UFC 194 under 100% we can all agree that the re-match is sure to be even better. Rockhold came into the fight with a pretty bad staph infection and was on antibiotics during the week leading upto fight night. Weidman as previously mentioned had his foot broken in two places over a month before the bout. 

I think you’re gonna see a different fight. It’s gonna be quick, it’s gonna be fast. It’s gonna be precise. I’m gonna go in there, I’m gonna execute. I’m gonna get this fight over with. 

He is a great fighter. But I’m the best. 

Leave a Reply

