Miesha Tate vs. Ronda Rousey (showtime sports)

Miesha Tate wants third crack at Ronda Rousey but questions the former champions mental state. 

This rivalry has been one of the most covered in the sport. Miesha Tate and Ronda Rousey’s ‘beef’ dates back to when they first met inside the Strikeforce cage in 2012. They also met at UFC 168 and on both nights it was the “Rowdy” one who had her hand raised after two armbar submissions ended the fights. 

Now we are in 2016 and Miesha Tate is the UFC bantamweight champion. The former Strikeforce champion stunned Holly Holm with a fifth-round submisison earlier this month in what was Holm’s first title defence after she beat Rousey last November. 

Since her victory, Miesha Tate has been doing the usual rounds with media and on Monday sat down with Maxim Magazine where she spoke about her interest in getting a third fight with Ronda Rousey. 

I’m very confident. I was telling everyone that Ronda Rousey is not this unbeatable woman and everyone was like, ‘You’re crazy’ then Holly Holm went out there and kicked her head off, and I was like ‘See? I told you she was only human.’ Then I went out there and choked out Holly. It just goes to show that on any given day someone can go out there and win fights. I want to go out there and I want to rematch her.

During the Holly Holm and Ronda Rousey fight the former boxing champion showed the world and the rest of the division how to beat the once considered ‘unbeatable’ Rousey. Tate, just like the Millions who watched Rousey go down at UFC 193, has the blue print to beat her old foe.

Well, you know obviously there’s exploiting her holes in her game. She’s been exposed, for sure. I really question her mentality. I know whenever I’ve been put through any kind of adversity or come back from a loss the first thing I want to do is get back in the gym and get better. That’s not what I heard from her. I have yet to hear ‘Oh, I just want to get back in the gym and get better.’

She said she wants to have kids with Travis Browne. I don’t know where her mind is with everything. 

Immediately after Miesha beat Holm UFC President Dana White announced that it would indeed be Rousey who would get first crack at Miesha’s bantamweight gold but according to Tate she’s not aware of who’s next. 

I don’t know who’s going to be next. I still have to talk to the UFC. 

Things are sure to get very interesting as we have learned when these two ladies are set to compete against one another it makes for interesting viewing and reading. 

Leave a Reply

