Anderson Silva (Zuffa/Getty images)

Former middleweight champion Anderson Silva wants to fight featherweight King Conor McGregor. 

Next in action at UFC 198, Anderson Silva the former long time middleweight champion has called for a fight with Conor McGregor. 
Currently on media duty in Brazil to promote his UFC 198 meeting with Uriah Hall, Silva dropped an almighty bombshell while talking to reporters. 

I would like to do a rematch with Nick Diaz and then Michael Bisping. And the challenge that I would like to have in my career would be cut down in weight and fight McGregor. 

I would have to talk to (UFC general manager) Giovani Decker about which weight we can do this fight at, but it’s a challenge i would like. He offers me a big challenge, something I’m looking for in my martial knowledge right now. 

Silva fought the majority of his career at 185-pounds, where he reigned supereme for many years. He made three trips up to 205 and had the same crushing victories over top light heavyweight fighters. Now, “The Spider” would cut down to 180 in order to face McGregor.

His fighting style. He’s an electric, versatile athlete, and I believe his game can surprise many people, like it did already. I think he’s a great fighter and a smart man. 

While this is currently all fantasy match making I’m sure the UFC ‘brass’ have caught wind of Silva’s comments and mouths are most certainly watering. 

Leave a Reply

